Exposed Series, Lessons Learned

It’s a YOU Problem; Not a ME Problem

That’s right. Did you read my post recently about people being mean, or as my momma called them, meanies? Well, turns out I didn’t get everything out of my system that I had to say about meanies! Have you ever been around someone who likes to use cutting remarks to bring you down, bully you, or try and make you feel bad about yourself? No? Good for you. But if you are like the rest of us, it is no fun!

Guess what? It’s ok to be who you are. It’s ok to be silly, loud, shy, obnoxious (at times), or downright weird. In most cases when others try to hurt you, they pinpoint a personality trait that is part of who you are. Something so ingrained in your DNA that you couldn’t change it even if you wanted to.

Y’all, I like to dance, sing out loud in my car to the radio (at least I get the words right;)), I’m a hugger, and believe that sarcasm is the thing of which healthy humor is made. Some people don’t get me….and…THAT’S OK! But just because some may think I am a bit weird, doesn’t mean anything is wrong with me.

What makes you unique? Has anyone ever tried to criticize a part of who you are?

Those who matter don’t mind and those who mind DON’T MATTER.

In the past, from time to time, I’ve let people make me rethink who I am. Perhaps we have all been guilty of this at times. They’ve made me question myself and feel as though something is wrong with me. FOR BEING MYSELF! WHAT? Why would I give the right to anyone to make us feel as though something is wrong with me? What about you? Are you giving someone the power to dictate how you feel about yourself? No one should have that kind of influence over us.

BE YOU…Everyone else is ALREADY taken.

And finally…remember one of the many wise things Eleanor Roosevelt said…

valuable

the whole truth & nothing but,
jco

Leave a Reply

