Lessons Learned

Watch Your Mouth

Y’all, I have some friends…and they just don’t know when to shut up! Have any firsthand experience with that? Does the shirt describe you or someone you know?

tshirt

I suppose we all have friends that would admit they have an “open mouth insert foot problem”. Guess what? If you ask my friends, they’d probably tell you the same about me sometimes. I guess birds of a feather…well, you know.

I read an interesting article the other day that was a good example of the trouble our mouths can get us into. In scripture, we find so many good reminders to put a sock in it…

Proverbs 13:3, “The one who guards his mouth protects his life; the one who opens his lips invites his own ruin.”

Did you catch that? INVITE your own ruin? I certainly don’t want to be guilty of inviting destruction into my own life when practicing the pause could avoid such.

pause

You will never regret practicing the pause. Like never. I tagged this post under my “Lessons Learned” series, but it probably should’ve been “Lessons I’m Learning”.

Instead of using your words carelessly to facilitate destruction or risk hurting others, use them to speak life into yourself and others. Nothing is sweeter than encouraging someone and casting light on them. Never throw shade or spend time with those who do at the risk of it rubbing off on you. Use your words (spoken & written) to silence hurt whether it be from outside sources or your own internal voice. In either case, use your Fighting Words, and hear how Ellie Holcomb beautifully illustrates how we should sing truth into the dark. Because sometimes you just have to shut the enemy down!

the whole truth and nothing but,
jco

Leave a Reply

